Authors of these three books shown above have perhaps made the greatest contribution to the profession of coaching as we know it today.

There is not enough space in my blog to cover all others who too have done yeoman service to this noble profession.

I came across Timothy Gallwey first when i started playing tennis at the ripe age of 30, in the late seventies. I was making little progress through coaches. Someone recommended Inner Game of Tennis. I was already a practitioner of meditator and visualization. The concept of improving my tennis visualizing my game  sitting in an easy chair appealed to me.

Strangely it improved my tennis too.

Years later i read Gallwey’s Inner Game of Work in relation to executive coaching. I also came across Coaching for Performance by Sir John Whitmore,  long time associate of Gallweyand the developer of the GROW model. I was already using models based on Maslow’s Need Hierarchy and Johori Model in my self-development workshops. Reference to their use in coaching by Whitmore appealed to me and drew me towards a coaching approach to training.

When i started training myself seriously for professional credentials in Coaching, i met the name of Thomas Leonard. Founder of ICF, founder of IAC, founder of Coach U, founder of Coachville and many other path breaking feats and all before he died untimely at 47, makes this man a legend. He truly laid the foundations for today’s coaching profession, developing concepts, guidelines and a systemic structure.

I then read the Portable Coach. The 28 Principles enunciated in this book impressed me. Surely, Leonard was not the originator of the Law of attraction. Many others including Charles Haanel in his Master Key System, a hundred years ago,  have written extensively about this. Hindu Buddhist scriptures based many of their recommendation for living on this principle of the Law of Attraction, three to five thousand years ago.

The way Leonard expressed himself through variations of this principle was novel. I hope to talk about them in future posts. Also about Inner Game and Performance Coaching, as I interpret and use them.

