If mind not steady one can’t be wise and look within

There is no peace then and no joy to win   2.66

 Mind led astray by one’s senses without wisdom wanders

Like a ship rudderless in the waters meanders  2.67

 Arjuna, only he is steady in mind and in wisdom

Whose senses stay away from objects in freedom 2.68

 When others sleep in darkness, the wise one is awake

He sees in the darkness in which others struggle while awake 2.69

 Like the ocean stays undisturbed by waters that flow in

The wise one stays calm, but not those who seek things to win  2.70

 Letting go attachment, ego and caprice

The wise one stays centered in peace    2.71

 This Arjuna is the state of the Supreme Truth, no doubt in this

Reaching it even at one’s twilight, one delights in eternal bliss 2.72

Vedic scriptures talk about four states of human Consciousness.  These are the states of  being physically Awake, Dreaming, Sleeping and a Fourth State.

When we analyse these states through a matrix of thinking and self-identity, we find this correspondence.

Awake: We think and we feel conscious our identity

Dream: We think but we are not conscious of our identity. This is why when we dream of being attacked, we awake when our consciousness of identity kicks in, and we awake with no loss of limbs.

Deep Sleep: We have no memory of thoughts and we are also not aware of our identity.

By exception, some of us some time land in a Fourth State wherein we are conscious of our identity but we do not have thoughts.

Patanjali, in his Yoga Sutras refers to this as the state of Samadhi.

In this state. Krishna says that the wise one is truly awake even when asleep. By contrast, Shankara says we are asleep even when we are physically awake. We are like the rudderless ship, allowing our senses to lead the mind any which way. What looms ahead is disaster.

When we control the senses instead of the senses controlling us , through what Patanjali calls the process of pratyahara, we center within. This leads to the state of samyama, a combination of dharana, dhyana and samadhi.

The word samyama cannot really be translated. Patanjali says it leads to insight and inner awakening.

However, Patanjali defines dharana as focusing on one sense, dhyana as focusing on one thought and samadhi as the state in which one no longer associates with the thought and with no reflections of the mind. These three are parallel processes disengaging one from all sensory inputs and emotional attachment.

Krishna tells Arjuna to strive for this state of peace and bliss.

I acknowledge the picture of the rudderless ship from the Net.